August 03

News : Warren pinball collector still has passion three decades after starting pinball exposition : Vindy.com

93

Rob Berk, one of the founders of Pinball Expo talks about his pinball history and obsession of collecting pinball machines.


Rob Berk, president of Berk Enterprises on Thomas Road, admits that his hobby of collecting pinball, video and arcade games is an obsession.

“I’m the kind of person, if I’m passionate about something, I take it to the next level,” he said.

He has more than 1,000 games in a Warren warehouse and in his Howland home and has three people working for him who repair and manage the collection.

And he’s excited to get more.

“I’m always looking to buy games. As crazy as I am, I can’t have enough games. Someone calls me up, and they’ve got a warehouse full, I’ll probably buy them all. Always looking for the next game.”

Berk says his interest began in the 1960s, when his family took vacations in Florida.

“My dad, for whatever reason, always made it a point to take the kids to the arcade. I guess he liked pinball, so it was his way of introducing me to it. And it became a ritual.”

Rob also remembers a bookstore in Miami Beach that had two pinball games. “We would play for hours,” he said.

Closer to home, Rob remembers playing in the arcade at the Trumbull County Fair, when it was at the present site of Warren G. Harding High School on Elm Road.

“There was just something about that ball and playing and the lights and the graphics, and the games were fun,” he recalled.

Another favorite arcade was at Nelson Ledges in Parkman.


Read the entire story here :
http://www.vindy.com/news/2016/jul/31/passion-for-pinball/


Thanks to Vindy.com and Ed Runyan for the story.  Thanks Pinballnews.com for the picture.

