February 05

Jersey Jack’s The Hobbit Pinball on Location : Asbury Park, NJ : Video and Pics

I was fortunate enough to play The Hobbit pinball machine on location at The Silverball Museum in Asbury Park NJ.  The game played very smooth and lofty.  If you are looking for a pinball machine that plays fast, this may not be the machine for you. The back glass consists of an LCD monitor that is sharp and looks great.  The sound and music that emits from the pinball machine is wonderful.  The play field lighting is bright and not over powering.  The LEDS work very well when playing the machine.  The machine’s side rails and lock down bar looks like hammered metal that is painted brown and gold (LE Version).  The only complaint on the decals of the machine is the sticker that is placed on the lock down bar for the ring button.  It is a sticker that will show wear over time.  Stern has and is using a metal type of plate that looks more professional and will sustain abuse on route and in the home.

I have to thank The Silverball Museum staff for allowing me to film the pinball machine.  I have been going to the museum for years now, and its always great to play some games and be welcomed by the staff.  I have also met some great people who are also into the hobby like myself while there.  I met up with my friend Joe and was introduced to a few Pinsiders.  Also, the Jersey Jack management team dropped in to see how the Hobbit was doing while I was there.  The four gentleman were great.  They asked a lot of questions and were interested in what my friends and myself had to say.  They really welcomed the input.  If you are in the Asbury Park, NJ area, stop into the Silverball Museum and play some games.

Overall, I think The Hobbit looks and plays great.  The $8000.00 – $8500.00 price tag is a bit steep for me, but with all of the visuals and sound coming from the machine, it tantalizes the senses.  Jersey Jack has hit it out of the ball park especially if you are a Hobbit fan.  I can’t wait to see what is in store for Jersey Jack with Pat Lawlor’s upcoming machine ready to be released next.  Jersey Jack is setting the bar in the pinball industry with its ongoing technologies being introduced into the pinball field.  Congrats Jersey Jack.


VIDEO :

 


 


 

